Controlerless LCD on LPT port

Got 'em? Show 'em!

Controlerless LCD on LPT port

Postby Savel » Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:07 am

Hi,

Impossible made possible :)

Controlless LCD on printer port. It is Sharp LM64P10 (640x480 STN) with custom software written in MS visual basic 6.0

Image

Details:
Image

Description only in Lithuanian language, english version comming soon.
Savel
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:01 am

Less

Postby spock » Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:14 am

Hello, welcome aboard and congratulations.
That's a very nice app, only noone really ever said it's impossible. Just rather impractical.
Just a question, though: what's the CPU utilization, when your program is running?
Oh, and... is there any particular reason you've divided the LCD into two 640x240 parts?
Take care!
Live long and prosper...
User avatar
spock
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:01 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby Savel » Sat Mar 17, 2007 10:32 am

CPU utilization is 50% as it is dual core :)

Image is divided to two parts because the LCD is using bits 0-3 for upper screen and 4-7 to lower. I just connected bits of the both parts. The main reason I didn't used whole image is that my current LPT-breadboard adapter is missing output lines. I need 8+3 to control the device.

This configuration is very slow. It is about 40 (!) times slower than recommended in datasheet. The screen is flickering- it is 2..3 fps! :)

This setup was done only to reverse engineer all timings and programming sequences.
Savel
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:01 am

Postby Ray » Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm

hahah great job! the 2.4fps is fairly impressive even figured one would do much much less then that.
Ray
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3359
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 11:48 am

Postby Savel » Sun May 13, 2007 9:30 pm

next step... FPGA and FlashROM.

Image

Image

still lots of bugs and useless. Hope to finish this project in some time. :)

http://levas.vabolis.com [lt], http://blog.savel.org [en]
Savel
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:01 am

Postby Ray » Sun May 13, 2007 9:38 pm

All i can say is :bow:
Ray
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3359
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 11:48 am

Postby Savel » Tue May 15, 2007 2:33 pm

fixed bugs. No more gaps in the screen.

Image
Savel
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:01 am

FPGA

Postby spock » Tue May 15, 2007 8:11 pm

What kind of instruction set have you utilised in the FPGA? Oh, and... is the interface plain parallel? Or have you made a serial, or, even better, USB interface?
Looks nice anyhow!
Cheers!
Live long and prosper...
User avatar
spock
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 6:01 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Postby Savel » Wed May 16, 2007 7:47 pm

parallel interface. But still not working very good. Whole screen load and 38400 bytes update is still too slow.
Savel
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:01 am


Return to Gallery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron